Marble cupcakes with blue hydrangea butter icing


I love the marble cake I normally bake in a small loaf tin but hadn’t tried them as a cupcake so lets live a little! I used an 8oz vanilla sponge recipe but once I’d combined the ingredients I took half the mixture and added a couple of tablespoons of cocoa powder with some warm water to it to make the chocolate sponge. Layer the mixture randomly in the muffin cases to get the marbled effect and bake at approx 180c or gas mark 4 for about 15-20 mins. Once cooled I made up some butter icing with lots of blue and a couple of drops of red food colouring to give it a bit more of a wedgewood blue colour. Pipe the butter icing all over the top of the cupcake using a large star piping nozzle and place a white sugar pearl in the centre of each flower head. I’m sure there is a better nozzle that would give you an even more life like hydrangea type flower but I’m not sure what number it is and a large star does the job for quick cupcakes.

Do you think the blue icing will send the kids crazy?……hmmm not sure I thought this through!

One thought on “Marble cupcakes with blue hydrangea butter icing

Leave a Reply

